EU nations halt UK travel amid new virus strain fears

A growing number of European countries have banned flights and other travel from the United Kingdom, with other nations considering limiting links after Britain announced that a new strain of the COVID-19 virus was “spreading rapidly.”

Outside the UK, nine cases of the new strain have been reported in Denmark, as well as one case in the Netherlands and another in Australia, according to the World Health Organization.

The government of the Netherlands has banned all flights carrying passengers from the UK from Sunday, with travel restrictions to remain in place until at least January 1.

It added that it was monitoring developments and could also consider additional measures on other modes of transport.

In early December, authorities said a sampling of a COVID-19 case in the Netherlands had revealed the same strain found in the UK.

Canada said it would halt the entry of passenger flights from Britain for 72 hours from midnight Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.