‘Vaccine discrimination’ threatening billions of lives, WHO warns

The World Health Organization has called on countries to recognize all its approved vaccines to avoid developing discriminatory travel systems.

Currently, several countries and blocs including the European Union are allowing vaccinated travelers to circumvent some COVID-19 restrictions. However, they do not accept all WHO-approved jabs.

The EU’s vaccine passport, for instance, only accepts vaccines approved by its own regulator – of which there are currently four. This is despite the fact that within the EU, Hungary has authorized and administered other jabs such as China’s Sinovac and Russia’s Sputnik V.

The EU will also not accept doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine manufactured in India, although individual countries do have discretion to adapt the rules.

China’s embassy in the U.S. says it will consider vaccines not yet approved in China – such as Pfizer or Moderna – in assessing travel for the coronavirus health code needed to enter the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.