KitKat V is here – what exactly is Nestle’s first vegan KitKat made of?

The arrival of plant-based alternatives to the market isn’t showing signs of stopping soon. The latest addition to the growing list of vegan-friendly foods? Nestlé’s first-ever vegan KitKat: the Kitkat V.

At first glance, the new twist on the classic “break time” chocolate bar sounds ironic. How can a milk chocolate confection – emphasis on the “milk” – be considered okay for vegan consumption?

According to the Swiss company, it ditched its dairy component for a rice-based formula that consists of rice, oat, soy, coconut, pea, and almonds, as well as their “100% sustainable cocoa.” They used a “test and learn approach” inside their research and development center in York, United Kingdom to find out which flavors clicked.

Nestlé said they chose these key components because these blend well with cocoa and sugar to retain that trademark creamy texture and achieve that “perfect balance between crispy wafer and smooth chocolate.”

Source: https://freebiemnl.com/2021/02/kitkat-v-is-here-what-exactly-is-nestles-first-vegan-kitkat-made-of/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.